University of Texas at Austin
Conference Participants

Marketing Strategy Consortium

McCombs School of Business McCombs School of Business

2020 Marketing Strategy Consortium - Virtual Event - December 4-5, 2020

Consortium Goals and Approach

The Marketing Strategy Consortium aims to engage PhD Students with state-of-the-art marketing strategy research and grow and strengthen the marketing strategy research community of scholars. The consortium will make an impact on the discipline by addressing (and potentially removing) current barriers, hence adding to the growth of the marketing strategy field. The event is future focused with a mission and theme that connects over 120 faculty and doctoral students. Participants will also include editors and important parts of the editorial teams of the premier outlets for marketing strategy (e.g., Journal of Marketing, Journal of Marketing Research, Marketing Science, and JAMS).

Event Logistics
Access to Zoom links: All registered attendees received Zoom links by email
Tech issues during the event: Direct questions to “A/V Tech” in Zoom chat window 
Difficulties joining the Zoom meeting: Contact Thompson Conference Center at 512-232-8057
Download Zoom Tips

2020 Marketing Strategy Consortium

2020 Marketing Strategy Consortium

All times are CST.

 Friday, 12/4/20  Event
 8:00 am - 8:15 am Welcome Address
 Andrew Gershoff, Chair of the Marketing Department, Texas McCombs
 Sebastian Hohenberg, 2020 Marketing Strategy Consortium Co-Chair, Texas McCombs
 8:15 am - 10:00 am  Plenary Session 1 - Raising the Profile of Marketing Strategy by Considering Multiple Perspectives
 Managerial Relevance: V Kumar and Werner Reinartz
 Simple vs. Complicated Models: Donald Lehmann and Venky Shankar
 Endogeneity Adjustments: Lopo Rego and Leigh McAlister
 Working with Survey Data: Ajay Kohli and K. Sudhir
 10:00 am - 10:10 am  Break
 10:10 am - 11:10 am  Workshop Session - How Can We Enhance Marketing Strategy Research?
 11:10 am - 11:35 am  Break
 11:35 am - 12:40 pm  Plenary Session 2a - Presentation of Workshop Results by Moderators
 Managerial Relevance: Chris Moorman, Editor, JM
 Simple vs. Complicated Models: Werner Reinartz, Editor, IJRM
 Endogeneity Adjustments: K. Sudhir, Editor, Marketing Science
 Working with Survey Data: Mark Houston, Editor, JAMS
 12:40 pm - 12:45 pm  Plenary Session 2b - Announcement of Research Proposal Winners
 Denish Shah
 12:45 pm - 1:00 pm  Plenary Session 2c - Welcome Address by Sponsors
 1:00 pm - 1:30 pm  Lunch
 1:30 pm - 2:30 pm  Networking Session
 2:30 pm - 3:15 pm  Special Topic Session A - Innovation
 Chair: Gerry Tellis
 Other presenters: Rebecca Sotegraaf and Alina Sorescu

 3:15 pm - 3:20 pm  Break
 3:20 pm - 4:05 pm  Special Topic Session B - Marketing's Role within a Firm
 Chair: Bernie Jaworski
 Other presenters: Neil Morgan and Greg Carpenter
 4:05 pm - 4:35 pm  Workshop Session
 Small Group Discussions of Special Topics (Sessions A-B)
 4:35 pm - 4:45 pm  Break
 4:45 pm - 6:00 pm  Plenary Session 4 - Developing Theory
 Co-Chairs: K. Sudhir and Ajay Kohli
 Saturday, 12/5/20  Event
 8:00 am - 8:45 am  Special Topic Session C - Financial and Social Value of Marketing
 Chair: Rajesh Chandy
 Other Presenters: Shuba Srinivasan and CB Bhattacharya
 8:45 am - 8:50 am  Break
 8:50 am - 9:35 am  Special Topic Session D - Customer Relationship Management (CRM)
 Chair: Lisa Scheer
 Other presenters: Rob Palmatier and Dan McCarthy
 9:35 am - 9:40 am  Break
 9:40 am - 10:25 am  Special Topic Session E - Consumer Behavior
 Chair: Jeff Inman
 Other presenters: Lisa Bolton and Markus Giesler
 10:25 am - 10:55 am  Workshop Session
 Small Group Discussion of Special Topics (Sessions C-E)
 10:55 am - 11:05 am  Break
 11:05 am - 12:05 pm  Plenary Session 5 - Editor's Advice
 12:05 pm - 12:15 pm  Plenary Session 6a - Welcome Address
 Susan Broniarczyk, Associate Dean for Research, Texas McCombs
 12:15 pm - 12:25 pm  Plenary Session 6b - AMA Initiative: Publishing Marketing Strategy in Non-Marketing Scholarly Journals
 V. Kumar (JIBS and POM)
 12:25 pm - 1:00 pm  Lunch
 1:00 pm - 1:45 pm  Special Topic Session F - Sales Management
 Chair: George John
 Other presenters: Mike Ahearne and Doug Chung
 1:45 pm - 1:50 pm  Break
 1:50 pm - 2:35 pm  Special Topic Session G - B2B Marketing
 Chair: Gary Frazier
 Other presenters: Sandy Jap and Navid Mojir
 2:35 pm - 3:05 pm  Workshop Session
Small Group Discussion of Special Topics (Sessions F-G)
 3:05 pm - 3:15 pm  Break
 3:15 pm - 4:45 pm  One-on-One Research Sessions
 4:45 pm - 4:50 pm  Break
 4:50 pm - 5:15 pm  Plenary Session 7 - Wrap Up and Closing Remarks
 Lisa Scheer, Rebecca Slotegraaf, Raji Srinivasan, Manjit Yadav